NRcontrol – software to control ONKYO AVR's via network

NRcontrol v0.2 – Input selection freely configurable

A new version with some minor bug fixes, but most importantly via “Display” you can reach in the Options dialog a new tab were you can configure the available inputs on the main NRcontrol GUI. This should allow to adapt NRcontrol to other models than my TX-NR807. Tough I can’t test it, unless a noble benefactor likes to honor my work for the Onkyo community with a generous donation.  For a proper user interface you have to install  the two special fonts mentioned in the earlier posts and you should switch of Cleartype in Windows 7 and 8.

Enjoy!

NRcontrol Download. You must change the ending from”.pdf” to “.exe”. NRcontrol does not need installation, it just runs ,-) I like to keep it simple.

55 responses

  1. Nathan

    All you did was send out a couple of viruses and some spyware……Your An ASS

    February 20, 2013 at 22:18

    • Nathan,
      I’m sorry if you did not get to the correct download of NRcontrol. Please share for others what you did to have this unpleasant result. If you look through the comments on this blog you’ll see that you are the only one with this experience. I hope you can still see how NRcontrol looks like some day. kind regards Hartmut

      February 20, 2013 at 22:56

      • Richard

        Keep up the great work. I use it almost daily when doing my PC work.

        February 21, 2013 at 11:53

    • Lukas

      Just Click the right place > Click the Text > “Click here to start download from sendspace”
      You will instantly download a file !!! NRcontrol.exe !!! about 713KB this file is good.
      Do not download any other file, like “donwloader.exe”….

      !!! NOT !!! > do not click one of the nice colored buttons, this is shit. You will be redirected to Downloaders for Spyware and the stuff you get.

      The real Software works perfect, no viruses, no spyware!!

      March 14, 2014 at 20:05

    • Tommy Tucker

      Hey Nathan,

      Be a little more gentle. I have had no problem with later installs. This is a great app.

      March 31, 2015 at 23:15

  2. Aaron

    Thank you for the update.

    Confirming 05 – Video 6 works as PC button on TX-NR414.

    I love the ability to Select the inputs you want to display, esp because I only use 3 with my current setup.

    February 20, 2013 at 22:47

  3. Henk

    Confirming that input selection works, including USB Rear, on TX-NR5007

    February 20, 2013 at 23:25

  4. Richard

    I have several Onkyo units on my home network. Is there any chance that the app may query devices after discovery so that a user may select the device from a list? This feature is included in the Onkyo Android app and would be appreciated.

    February 21, 2013 at 11:57

  5. Michael

    Good to see that your project continues. No problems associated with the download and NRcontrol is working fine with my NR807.
    Android App would be nice as well (as Onkyo does not provide one for the 807)

    February 21, 2013 at 15:53

  6. krouebi

    Dear Hartmut,

    Unfortunately, even following your additional download tip, my browser (Chrome) warns me that NRcontrol.exe may be malicious. On the oher hand, my antivirus (MS Security Essentials) says it’s OK This is not reassuring, and I’m hesitating whether to run the file.

    February 22, 2013 at 11:21

    • Don’t worry, you don’t need to run it. Just keep using the remote control that comes with the receiver. It does a reasonable job ,-) I’m just a little hobby programmer and I have no intentions to spend any money on questionable security certificates for my software, especially not for freeware. And I guess most browser will still warn you when you download an executable file. If you want to test NRcontrol safely you could use a sandbox or a virtual machine to run it. You could as well upload it to a virus scanning service on the web which runs the file through 10, 20 or more virus scanners. Lots of ways … Have a good day.

      February 22, 2013 at 16:29

      • krouebi

        Dear Hartmut,

        don’t worry – I truly appreciate your work and the energy you have invested in this – and I’ll have a go at it, especially as the program itself came clear when I had my antivirus check it out.

        Auch an dir einen schönen Tag 😉 !!

        Krouebi

        February 22, 2013 at 19:11

  7. Peter

    Hallo Hartmut, an dieser Stelle mal vielen Dank für Deine klasse Arbeit und Mühe! Das Programm – schönes Userinterface – funktioniert bestens mit meinem 1007 und wird von mir mittlerweile häufiger benutzt als die Fernbedienung! 🙂
    Viele Grüße aus München!
    Peter

    March 14, 2013 at 08:24

  8. Thomas Horrall

    I just tried to download 0.2 also and Avast reported that it contained a virus or malware and blocked the installation. Too bad, sounds like it would be a nice improvement. Why not try another hosting site?

    March 24, 2013 at 14:50

  9. amrod

    why not host on another host like mediafire?

    March 30, 2013 at 21:32

  10. Ulf

    Hi Hartmut,
    great work! No problems so far with TX-NR509 – and a very helpful tool if RC got lost between the pillows again.
    I like it, but would also like to edit config file (adding useful entries) or send a command manually (for testing). Unfortunately I don’t know how. Do you provide any documentation about these functions?
    And what means “Draft – not active” in Display/config-window? Changes won’t be saved by click on OK.

    April 9, 2013 at 14:14

  11. Diginix

    Ich hätte die 0.2 oder neuer gern. Bin mit 0.18 und NNR509 super zufrieden!
    Danke.
    PS: Dropbox wäre auch eine Option als Hoster,

    April 24, 2013 at 22:05

  12. w0wka

    Please use https://mega.co.nz/ for the sharing!
    I am using old version that not fully working with my receiver, I want to try the new one.
    It would be great if you can do it open-source, but if it would be some 20$ I want to buy it also.

    April 26, 2013 at 17:13

  13. Hey, nice work 🙂 how can I get the newest version?

    April 27, 2013 at 11:47

  14. Tom LeCluse

    Hi – I am happily running v0.18b with TX-NR717 and would like to try the v0.2 can you send a link? thanks!

    April 27, 2013 at 18:15

  15. chopsus

    Am using NRControl with an Electra 80.3 pre/pro … Excellent work.

    Am really keen to upgrade to 0.2 version … Please let me know how to obtain it.

    Cheers

    Chops

    April 28, 2013 at 07:11

  16. RLP

    Using v0.18b on a TX-NR1010 with latest firmware. All looking good, so far, but I would be interested in looking at v0.2. Thank you for your work on this. Win7 (64), ethernet

    May 9, 2013 at 17:25

  17. Klaus

    Hi Hartmut, I’ve been using NRcontrol since a while and it is a great application for the HIFI nerd of today….Please let me know how I can get V0.2. Kind Regards from Berlin, Klaus

    May 20, 2013 at 17:01

  18. Hi there, I’d very much like to try this with my Onkyo NR-515. Many thanks for your efforts. Dan

    May 21, 2013 at 19:29

  19. This is an excellent application. I’d really like to see spotify integration becoming a bit more controllable, indeed all of the NET section could do with something decent to drive it as otherwise you really have to put a display on to see what you’re doing. I am genuinely impressed though. Thanks.

    May 21, 2013 at 21:59

  20. Fabian

    Hi,
    hast du bereits Erfahrungen mit Windows 8? Bin gestern in die Tiefen der Onkyo-logie eingestiegen und relativ zügig dein Tool gefunden. Aktuell ist es aber wohl nicht so ganz funktional, oder? Im Moment sieht das ganze bei mir so aus: http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/6194/78a8.png
    Irgendwelche Tricks, wie ich die Anzeigen so hinbekomme, dass alle nützlichen Informationen angezeigt werden? (Interpret, Titel etc).

    Soweit funktioniert es aber bisher richtig gut. Dickes Lob von hier.

    Danke und Gruß

    Fabian

    June 14, 2013 at 20:04

    • Das Problem ist das die neueren einfachen Geräten, 414 515 etc, offentsichtlich nix mit den alten Input codes für iRadio (28) anfangen können. Da ich so ein ein Greät auch nicht zum testen habe sieht es schlecht aus den NRControl code entsprechend anzupassen. Falls man ein iphone oder iPad zur Hand hat empfehle ich die App von Robert Worne. Die ist wirklich gut und läuft mit fast allen Onkyos sehr gut. Ich hatte mal eine Anfrage an Onkyo geschickt zwecks Unterstützung aber noch nicht mal ne ingedeine Antwort erhalten.

      June 14, 2013 at 22:33

      • Fabian

        Stimmt, ich hätte auch noch dazuschreiben sollen, dass ich den 616 verwende. Aber das hat sich ja dann leider erledigt.
        Im Moment komme ich mit der original Onkyo App gut zurecht, wollte nur eben auch etwas für den Rechner haben.
        Trotzdem danke für deine Antwort

        June 15, 2013 at 13:59

  21. Daniel

    Works like a charm with my TX-NR515! Congratulations and thanks!

    July 20, 2013 at 17:58

  22. Björn

    Nice Software, unfortunately not working fully with NR-818. There’s a couple of new functions introduced with the new generation. Hope you’ll get your hands on a new receiver to further update the software.
    BTW… how do you enable/disable the speakers like in the app (by clicking on the speakers) with the standard remote of the NR-818?? didnt find the right menu for this on my receiver.

    September 8, 2013 at 11:51

  23. Joe

    1) I’d love to see the ability to run multiple instances of the program. I have three Onkyo network receivers, and I’d like to run NR Control three times, with different IP numbers for each. Ideally, I want to rename the app to correspond with the receivers’ model names.

    2) It’d be great to see the volume level in decibels.

    3) The correct speaker configuration doesn’t show up on the NR Control display. e.g. Two of my receivers are 11.x, but only 5.1 shows as default. I can manually light up the additional icons, but that gets reverted back to 5.1 quickly.

    4) Add Neo:X as a format that can be selected.

    5) Great work so far!!1

    October 28, 2013 at 03:44

    • Nice wishlist and I have to say that in Winter time I might be programming a bit in case I get bored. Wish number 2 is available via the options menu. You can get to it by clicking the “Display” radio button. It brings up a menu with several options. Saving the speaker configuration shouldn’t be big deal, is on my list. To make Neo:X available is easy too. Multiple instances – I need to check the efforts – might be easy too – will see. When I’m not at the PC I’m using the app from Robert Worne. He has done some excellent work and has implemented many more features than I have, but you need an iOS device.

      October 28, 2013 at 18:24

      • Joe

        Thanks very much for your quick reply. I really appreciate your efforts to our community, making things easier for us to use. On iOS, use a mixture of ORemote and iRule to control my Onkyos. These are great apps, but not free,

        October 28, 2013 at 20:59

  24. Tom Fisher

    This is great, I was able to program all inputs to match what I have programmed on the remote and display of the Onkyo (i.e “GAME” says “PS3”, “CBL/SAT” says “DirecTV”). The only thing that did not seem to work was the speaker selection lights on the display of the UI. I could click to turn on and lights but it did not turn on or off the speaker. Not sure if that is the intended purpose of being able to click on them or not but that is what I assumed. Everything else is awesome. I love being able to VNC into the pc from anywhere and being able to turn off the receiver if needed.

    Thanks for your hard work.

    November 12, 2013 at 16:49

  25. Gav

    This is a great bit of software, Thank you so much for taking the time to develop it.

    February 28, 2014 at 13:05

  26. Thanks for sharing this great program! (TX-NR616)

    March 7, 2014 at 17:52

  27. Lukas

    Thanks for this great small Software! Keep up the great Work, i use it everyday… and i works like charm.

    March 14, 2014 at 19:57

  28. tugg

    Extremely new here, an hour into playing with NRControl.

    I apologize if I am stating anything obvious or being annoying but I have a TXNR929 AVR and am finding some missing functions the NRControl interface shows that don’t seem to work …..

    There’s no “PC” input option, flicking speakers on and off doesn’t do anything, selecting the listening mode shows a very abbreviated set of choices, etc.

    Are these things that should work or am I just doing something wrong ?

    Again, my sincere apologies if all this is rehash or things I should know.

    Thank you

    March 25, 2014 at 06:09

  29. Jan N

    Nice work, the software seems to be working fine with my TX-NR414.

    Vielen Dank!

    July 4, 2014 at 17:12

  30. Paul

    I love this application. Use it almost on a daily basis (certainly when the remote control of my Onkyo cannot be found, which happens every once and a while 🙂 ). What future plans do you have? When can we expect a next release? I’d love to see the NET possibilities extended to the level of the iPhone Onkyo app.

    August 13, 2014 at 09:23

    • Thomas Horrall

      I also use this app with my Integra DHC-80.1 most of the time while I am at my computer, 3-6 hours per day, all days and most weeks. Love it. If feasible, it would be nice to have a few upgrades: 1. Have the speaker configuration display on the front panel reflected on the app front panel (maybe this already works with other Onkyo or Integra models?). 2. Have all available signal processing modes available on the Integra also on the app, e.g. Dolby Music ProLogic. 3. Have a few more inputs available on the app. Thanks

      Thomas Horrall USA

      Date: Wed, 13 Aug 2014 10:13:18 +0000 To: thorrall@hotmail.com

      August 13, 2014 at 16:35

  31. olemr

    Tested v0.2 with my TX-NR636 today. Works great, except for NET/DNLA and Blutooth.
    Needed it primarily for the volume control.
    PS. Font links are dead.

    September 13, 2014 at 22:36

    • Font links seem to be ok.

      September 14, 2014 at 11:24

  32. Phil

    Great Work & Thank-you very much for writing this app.

    Found one little bug…

    Click NET
    Click NETWORK & Select ‘a radio station’ (1 of 1 shown in my case)
    Throws this exception:

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.
    at NRcontrol.FormMain.ContextRadioList_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)

    If you’d like to release the source code on CodePlex or similar or email it to me, I’ll have a look & hopefully fix it for you.

    My receiver : TX-NR609

    Phil

    December 18, 2014 at 12:31

  33. RLS

    Hello,
    Is there aversion that works through the RS-232 (serial) port?
    To use it with an older receiver with no network capabilities.
    Thank you

    April 15, 2015 at 13:03

  34. Stanislav

    Hi
    Is able to add the bluetooth input? And why I cannot see the same text which is on the receiver display? Something like the android app. There I can fully control my receiver. I have TX-NR535 and the compatibility with NRcontrol isn’t perfect but usable for basic control (volume, inputs without bluetooth, on/off).
    Thanks a lot for your reply and for NRcontrol.
    Have a nice day

    May 29, 2015 at 08:39

    • Currently I’m not developing NRcontrol any further. It was primarily developed for my own 807. At that time a bluetooth interface did not exist in any Onkyo AVR.

      May 29, 2015 at 16:39

  35. Pete

    Hey, great work. Wish you would continue developing!

    Cheers,
    Pete

    August 26, 2015 at 15:00

  36. Claudiu

    THank you for that great tool !!!

    January 26, 2016 at 21:14

  37. SLX

    Hey there, this tool works perfectly, nice job.
    However, I’m a (hobby) developer myself and I would like to integrate Onkyo remote into my own little web server that is also controlling my tv and hue lamps.
    Could you share some pointers on how the communication works? I can’t seem to find any details anywhere.
    Your app also displays a lot of information that I had no idea was remotely available.
    If you don’t like to share those details in public, feel free to e-mail me about it.

    Once again, nicely done application you created there!

    May 21, 2017 at 14:55

    • I’ll send you an email with details.

      May 29, 2017 at 15:28

  38. TX-NR609
    for me neither PC (SLI05) nor USB (SLI29) work. I tested both of them via “manual command” and they both work, moreover, the display on the app then shows the correct source, so it seems it’s only a matter of allowing the user to add its own commands in the “input” drop down menus.

    I can also confirm that there’s no virus or spywares on version 0.2 as of today.

    August 21, 2017 at 15:37

Leave a Reply

