NRcontrol – software to control ONKYO AVR's via network

NRcontrol v0.18 with “PC” input selection for x08, x09 models

Here comes a new version with a “model detection” in order to have a PC input selector instead of the TV/Tape selector when a model with “08” or “09” in the model name is being detected.

I can’t fully test this since I work with an 807 model. Let me know whether it works. In addition a small change in the background to eliminate some detection problems on the network.

NRcontrol v0.18b

Digital Readout font
Conman font

For Win7 users to consider: Conman font quality in Win7

Enjoy.

32 responses

  1. mike

    I have an 809. The name is detected. However, the net button does not work. Just stays on the previous input.

    July 30, 2011 at 15:00

    • Difficult for me to say what the problem might be. However I’ve changed the code slightly. A new version is uploaded and available via the link in the post. Please try it and let me know whether it works now.

      July 31, 2011 at 22:18

  2. Henk

    Still no USB input support 😦

    July 30, 2011 at 15:08

  3. Anyone know the manual command to send for Stop Play when in NET mode?
    e.g. on the Network tab in the ‘Display’ dialog.

    July 30, 2011 at 20:32

    • I’ve send you an email with the codes as an excel attachment.

      July 31, 2011 at 22:32

      • Awesome… thank you.

        Perusing documentation by someone who already knows how something works is always fun. 😉

        Anyway, the answer to my question was “NTCSTOP”

        A ‘Stop’ button (that sends !1NTCSTOP) appearing under the front cover when in Net/Music Server input mode (!1SLI27) would be nice. I’m not sure what other input modes might find the !1NTCSTOP function to be useful… maybe USB and Universal Port? (my 807 doesn’t have USB input, and I don’t yet have a dock for my universal port.)

        I first considered asking to have the Select button change to Stop when playing, but I do like how currently you can just ‘Return’ up and click Select on another track without stopping first… and having the Select button change to Stop would break that functionality.

        Did you make that spreadsheet, by the way?
        I’m wondering, because in the Input Selector section (lines 154 to 187), it has footnote marks *1, *2 and *3, but only *1 is defined.

        Thanks again!

        August 1, 2011 at 16:30

  4. That dialog is labled ‘Options’ by the way… it appears when you click the Display button.

    July 30, 2011 at 20:35

  5. Gert-Jan

    Hi,

    I Have a 609 and after the last firmwareupdate the NET functions aren’t visible. When i push NET nothing happens in the programdisplay. The receiver does react; i can control via NRcontrol but i can’t see what i’m doing.

    Before the firmware updat it worked fine. Any ideas?

    August 6, 2011 at 17:48

    • my guesses:
      A) something went wrong with the firmware upgrade. difficult to check.
      B) Onkyo might have made changes to the net commands or to the responses to these commands.
      This could be analyzed to a certain extent by analyzing the network packets which are coming from the Onlyo via Wireshark (a network protocoll analyzer software)
      Greetings

      August 7, 2011 at 09:51

      • If I leave 0.18 running for a long time (like, overnight), it becomes, like, disconnected from my 807, just as described by Gert-Jan. The zone2 indicator lights up even though zone 2 is not selected, the speaker indicators and the audio mode all disappear, and none of the input buttons ‘work’ (except Display still pops up the Options dialog), even the ‘power’ button. Close NRControl and re-open it, then it works fine again.

        I never observed that behavior with 0.17.

        I installed wireshark on my Win7 x64 Dell and narrowed down the traffic with View Filter (the capture filter does not seem to be working in 1.6.1 x64) so it shows only traffic to and from my Onkyo’s IP address, then I started searching for just “21 31” (!1) and it finds the commands and replies in the payloads (Ctrl+N next and Ctrl+B previous/back… so about every-other-packet since the Acks don’t have any !1 commands in them), but NRControl hasn’t become unresponsive again since then, so I haven’t had a chance to see what’s happening with wireshark while it’s doing that.

        If/when NRControl becomes unresponsive again, I’ll start a capture and see what, if anything, I can find out for you. 🙂

        August 8, 2011 at 21:09

  6. Gert-Jan

    The funny thing is: i have an Android App (OnkytrollerPro) that works fine. Before and after the firmware update.

    Could it be that Mike (with a 809) has the same problem?

    August 7, 2011 at 17:38

  7. Tom Horrall

    When I click on NRControl under the blog roll I get this error indication:

    https://skydrive.live.com/accessdeniederror.aspx?path=/.Public&cid=ddbcb3a33ca883b5

    October 24, 2011 at 00:00

    • I don’t have anything to do with maintaining this page, so I can’t fix the blogroll link, but if you click the “NRcontrol v0.18b” link right above the Digital Readout font and Conman font links (just above these messages), it should take you to the proper download site.

      October 24, 2011 at 05:44

      • Carmelo

        just out of curiosity are you ever planning to port this to android cause that would be cool… The only trial app out doesn’t work very well so i am hesitant to buy the pro version.

        February 2, 2012 at 20:09

  8. Rich

    Nicely done. I got it working on my W7 and my TX-NR808 (and identified) connected wirelessly via a D-Link router in WiFi bridge mode. I can not get the ONKYO Android remote working but the OnkyTroller works, kinda. Good job! I was wondering if you considered using last.fm’s direct album details when clicking on streaming album art instead of artist biography. Maybe allow it to be user set as the default link?

    November 6, 2011 at 15:30

  9. atlind01

    Installed it for my NR-709 and it is working fine for most part. But I don’t know how to tune FM stations. I am able to select the tuner and switch back and forth between AM and FM, but don’t know how to select stations.

    March 6, 2012 at 19:47

    • NRcontrol does not have any support for “Tuner” right now, only station selection for iRadio is suported. For that you just click on “iRadio” and a popup-menu with the stored iRadio stations is being displayed.

      March 6, 2012 at 22:45

  10. mark taylor

    Hi

    Is there why chance of porting to windows 7 phone even as a cut down version or can you share the API and I can help with the coding for a mobile version

    March 11, 2012 at 23:05

  11. james

    HI

    I cant figure out how to change the ip address i originally put in on your app.

    Am i blind

    March 24, 2012 at 14:27

    • If you can’t get to it with the Display button on the far right of NRControl, you can edit the “%appdata%\NRcontrol\NRcontrol.config” file directly with Notepad…
      e.g. open a command prompt and run
      notepad %appdata%\NRcontrol\NRcontrol.config

      the IPv4 address is easily spotted within that file.
      (it should be located between the and tags.)

      November 21, 2012 at 01:49

      • The XML tags I put in that message seem to be hidden.
        the last line should say, (… between the appSettings and /appSettings tags.)

        November 21, 2012 at 02:19

  12. Jay

    gruehar,

    Could I get a copy of the excel spreadsheet with the codes.

    Thanks

    March 27, 2012 at 08:32

  13. Mark

    Like your efforts on this, but it has some major issues with my 809.
    1). No net select or control
    2). Often flakes out and dumps on system error
    I think it has real possibility, with a little work. Also has a nice interface or GUI
    Thanks for the hard work.

    May 26, 2012 at 16:03

  14. hell

    July 3, 2012 at 17:50

  15. sorry, I am a blind user using your software. Can you write me, please?

    July 3, 2012 at 17:51

  16. el-lobo

    With my TX 8050 basic functionality works fine, but not the menu buttons. Only “Setup”-button opens setup, but no navigation or return functionality.

    November 18, 2012 at 18:31

  17. Aaron

    I was wondering if it was possible to allow the PC input selection on my TX-NR414, I am running version .18b. I have checked the settings and haven’t found anything to tweak the model number.

    Thank you for the wonderful program.

    November 28, 2012 at 19:29

  18. Hans van de Voorde

    Hello, I’ve just downloaded the last version. However my Onkyo NR414 is not detected correctly. The PC input is not there and the Net selections are not displayed. However I like the app. Hope you will find the right tweeks.

    December 12, 2012 at 22:00

  19. Aaron

    Hans, I am not the author but wanted to share a workaround I found with you

    just google “oyremotecl.0.2” it should be the first result

    It is a command line program, I used it to make this shortcut on my desktop that selects the PC input

    C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /c oyremotecl.exe -ip 192.168.0.14 “SLI10”

    I still use and enjoy NRcontrol, but this was a quick workaround

    December 12, 2012 at 23:23

  20. badracer1

    Gruehar,

    Great service to humanity…You need an award for this programming effort.

    Much appreciated!

    January 15, 2013 at 16:37

  21. tugg

    <>

    When first installing a dialogue with questions was presented, I think I insted 0.17. After that d/led 0.20 and ran that first time with no questions (configs). Hrm …

    I run a TX-NR929 and no PC option was present. However, given ‘display’ I was able to point a PC selector to Video 6 which worked perfectly.

    Parenthetically, thank you very much for your hard work and valiant efforts on this product.

    Thank you !!!

    March 25, 2014 at 18:54

    • 0.2 found the config file from the previous version and used that, therefore no questions on start-up. I did not know a NR929 model does exist. I developed NRcontrol for my NR 807 and it works fine. I have no opportunity to test any other models.

      March 25, 2014 at 19:27

Leave a Reply

